In Pennsylvania, according to the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation, receiving more than one DUI is associated with serious consequences. For example, those arrested for more than two DWI offenses with a blood alcohol content level between .08 and .099 are subject to 12 months of license suspension, a fine of up to $5,000 and between 10 days and two years in prison. Those caught driving with a BAC level between 0.10 to .159 with three or more prior DUI offenses may be required to spend up to five years in prison and pay a fine of $1,500 to $10,000. However, there are some situations where repeat offenders may not face severe penalties for drinking and driving.
Even though Pennsylvania drivers are ultimately responsible for ensuring that they’re able to drive before they get behind the wheel, sometimes other people play a role in drunk driving accidents. In some cases, people who ignore certain warning signs may also be penalized for their decisions.