Like others in Pennsylvania, you may believe you cannot get in legal trouble for prostitution if you are not the one who is getting paid for sex. However, this is not the case. Being involved in one way or another with prostitutes may lead to criminal charges. One such offense is patronizing a prostitute.
People in Pennsylvania may believe their bodies are their own, and thus, they can do what they want with them. However, certain acts, such as prostitution, are prohibited by state law. Consequently, engaging in such activities could lead to criminal charges. In order to protect themselves, it is important for people to understand the state’s prostitution laws.
There are statutes of limitations on criminal charges, including sex offenses. This means that the authorities have a certain amount of time in order to file criminal charges against people. Consequently, things from the past may come back in the future, and cause serious legal issues for people in Pennsylvania, and elsewhere. This was the case with some of the recent sexual assault allegations that have been made against actor and comedian, Bill Cosby.
In today’s computer age, pictures, videos and other information on people’s electronic devices is easily accessible. If images that are of a sexually explicit nature, which involve children, are obtained from your computer or phone, you could face child pornography charges. Such allegations often have a devastating impact on those who they are made against, as well as their families. In order to protect your rights and your future, it behooves you to understand what constitutes child pornography in the state of Pennsylvania.
As a teen in Pennsylvania today, you likely have easy access to the Internet, which may allow you to take and share personal photos, sometimes without your parents’ knowledge. However, if these images contain nudity, or are sexual in nature, you could face serious criminal charges. In the state of Pennsylvania, transmitting sexually explicit images, also known as sexting, is a crime if you are under the age of 18-years-old.
Sometimes, criminal charges come following an accusation by a claimed victim. With few exceptions, the statute of limitations on prosecuting sex crimes in Pennsylvania is 12 years. It is longer in cases when the alleged victims are under the age of 18-years-old when the assault occurred. As such, a person could face serious legal charges years after any purported contact or interactions.
Misunderstandings, false accusations and inappropriate conduct commonly result in sexual assault charges for people in Philadelphia, and throughout Pennsylvania. Like many how find themselves in this situation, you may not understand the charges you are facing. At Rubin, Glickman, Steinberg & Gifford, P.C., people often ask us what it means to be charged with sexual assault. As such, we will discuss what constitutes sexual assault in the state of Pennsylvania, and the consequences you could face if convicted of this offense.
As teens and young adults, many people throughout Pennsylvania experience love for the first time. If they decide to act on their feelings, however, what should be a special time and experience may result in serious criminal charges. Depending on a couple’s ages, getting intimate with a partner could be considered statutory sexual assault.
Teachers in Pennsylvania, and elsewhere, often have close relationships with their students. However, should feelings develop and lead to an intimate relationship, the teacher could face serious criminal charges. Even just an accusation of this type could significantly impact a person’s personal life and future employment opportunities.
In Pennsylvania, there are numerous short and long term consequences that come from being charged with a sex crime. Even a person who is unrightfully accused could face severe social, emotional and economical repercussions that could affect their quality of life in the long run.