Driving Without Auto Insurance Lawyer
Although Pennsylvania drivers are required by law to carry some form of automobile insurance, an estimated six percent of motorists remain uninsured. Whether this is a result of a tight budget, a shortage of time, or a lack of trust, drivers found to be in violation run the risk of severe financial penalties. To make matters worse, they open themselves up to a lawsuit from the injured party if they cause an accident, which can lead to further financial hardships and other penalties.
Charged With Driving Without Auto Insurance And Have Questions? We Can Help, Tell Us What Happened.
Pennsylvania requires that each driver purchase a minimum of $5,000 for medical benefits, $15,000 for bodily injury, $30,000 for bodily injury per accident, and $5,000 for property damage. Like most other states, Pennsylvania imposes significant penalties for driving without valid car insurance. Fortunately, if you find yourself on the wrong side of the law, an experienced Montgomery county criminal defense lawyer may be able to help protect your license, save you money, and sidestep any other statutory consequences associated with a conviction.
How Uninsured Drivers are Identified
No one wants to find themselves in the uncomfortable position of opening a letter from their insurance company that indicates a missed payment, or worse, that their insurance policy has been canceled. Many in this situation will put off this pesky annoyance and promise to return to it when they have the time or the money to deal with it. However, to add insult to injury, it’s not uncommon to subsequently find yourself getting pulled over for a standard traffic infraction only to then remember that you forgot to renew your policy.
The officer in this situation will, in turn, cite you for not maintaining liability insurance for your vehicle, a very strict offense in Pennsylvania. This is one of the many ways in which drivers without insurance are identified. Likewise, you may be found in violation by the state via a letter from the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation. The insurance company is required to notify PennDOT when a driver’s insurance policy is canceled, and if you can’t prove that you’ve changed or re-upped your policy, your vehicle registration may be suspended for three months.
Additionally, before undergoing a vehicle inspection, the inspection employee will likely require proof of vehicle insurance. If not submitted, the inspection employee may deny you the inspection certificate and can notify PennDOT that there’s an uninsured driver on the road.
What Are the Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Pennsylvania?
Driving without insurance can lead to several significant problems for a driver, the most obvious of which is that they have no mechanism set up to pay for the damages if they’re in an accident. You may, therefore, be exposing yourself to considerable financial hardship. However, there are also statutory consequences handed down by the state that include points on your license, fines, and a license suspension. Those found in violation may face the following:
- A $300 fine, court costs, and increased insurance premiums
- License suspension for three months
- Vehicle impoundment
Likewise, after facing state-sanctioned penalties in court, you may also need to meet specific requirements to have your license restored, including another fee. Fortunately, with the help of an experienced lawyer, you may be able to reduce or eliminate the associated penalties.
How Can a Lawyer Help Me after Driving without Insurance?
If you had no coverage, it’s in your best interest to retain counsel to negotiate a plea on your behalf and attempt to preserve your license and registration. On the other hand, if you did have coverage and there was a technical error, it would be equally valuable to retain counsel to have the appropriate legal assistance in resolving this matter.
When faced with an insurance issue, hiring an intelligent defense attorney is an important first step if you want to protect your rights and license. Fortunately, help is right around the corner at the law offices of Rubin, Glickman, Steinberg & Gifford.
Aggravated Indecent Assault
Contact a Knowledgeable Driving without Insurance Lawyer in Montgomery County
If you’re found to have been driving without insurance in Pennsylvania, it’s important that you speak with an experienced criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. For legal assistance, look no further than the top-of-the-line lawyers at Rubin, Glickman, Steinberg & Gifford. Our firm takes a client-centered approach that will help make the legal process as trouble-free as possible, and our well-versed legal team is dedicated to fighting for your rights.
For more than 65 years, the attorneys at Rubin, Glickman, Steinberg & Gifford have been serving clients’ legal needs in Montgomery County, Bucks County, Lehigh County, Chester County, Delaware County, and throughout the surrounding areas. We’ve earned the trust of clients facing a variety of legal problems. Give us a call at (215) 822-7575 or complete our online contact form today.