Pennsylvania Reckless Driving Defense Lawyers

If you find yourself charged with reckless driving, you may not know which is the best way to proceed. Criminal charges made against you can be quite intimidating, whether at the misdemeanor or felony level. If you are facing reckless driving charges, you should hire a skilled and experienced attorney to represent you. The reckless driving defense lawyers at Rubin, Glickman, Steinberg & Gifford, P.C. offer decades of experience in advocating for defendants facing this type of criminal charge in the state of Pennsylvania.

What Is Considered Reckless Driving under Pennsylvania Law?

Reckless driving is generally treated as a serious criminal offense that may result in harsh penalties, such as significant monetary fines, suspension of your driver’s license, and even jail time. According to 75 Pa. C.S. § 3736, reckless driving in Pennsylvania consists of “driving any vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.”

Reckless driving charges often may be accompanied by other serious traffic offenses. These offenses could include driving under the influence (DUI), driving without a license, speeding, or otherwise driving without care. Careless driving is a separate charge, and it is defined by 75 Pa. C.S. § 3714 as driving “a vehicle in careless disregard for the safety of persons or property.”

Careless driving typically consists of an unintentional action, like falling asleep behind the wheel. Reckless driving, on the other hand, is viewed as a more intentional action. For example, speeding at an excessive rate would be considered reckless driving rather than careless driving. Penalties for reckless driving will increase in the event that a convicted defendant causes harm to another person or their property.

The most serious cases of reckless driving could result in the death of another person. That could lead to additional civil liability and the criminal charge of manslaughter. Reckless driving defendants charged with manslaughter could face the harshest penalties of all; therefore, they should obtain the counsel of an experienced criminal defense attorney.

What Penalties Might I Face for Reckless Driving?

The penalties for reckless driving run a wide range that starts with a $200 fine and loss of license for six months if a defendant is convicted. That fine doubles to $400 if the reckless driving took place in an emergency or work zone. Some convicted defendants may face time in jail.

Penalties exponentially increase whenever personal injury or property damage occur. In cases of personal injury, a minimum fine of $1,000 is assessed along with a minimum time in jail of ninety days. If the reckless driving leads to someone’s death, that minimum fine jumps to $25,000, and the jail time goes up to twelve months. Pennsylvania drivers who are convicted likely will also earn points on their driving records that could cause further consequences.

Contact the Reckless Driving Defense Attorneys at Rubin, Glickman, Steinberg & Gifford, P.C.

If you are facing reckless driving charges, you should contact an experienced lawyer who can help you. The reckless driving defense lawyers at Rubin, Glickman, Steinberg & Gifford, P.C. are experienced in evaluating the evidence of each specific case in order to best defend each client. We may be able to help you prepare a vigorous defense against your reckless driving charges, as well as any other accompanying charges. We are happy to offer a free, no-obligation consultation. Please call us at (215) 822-7575, or contact us online to speak with one of our skilled attorneys.