Montgomery County Underage Drinking Lawyers
All Pennsylvania drivers are subject to the state’s DUI laws that prohibit driving while impaired by drugs or alcohol or with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or more. However, the Commonwealth has additional impaired driving rules that apply to those under the age of 21. It’s important to realize what happens when a minor gets a DUI charge with a BAC over .02 in Pennsylvania and how you prepare a set of legal defenses to fight these charges.
While an underage drinking conviction may seem relatively minor, the repercussions can have a lasting impact throughout the defendant’s life, which may strain their personal relationships, college acceptance changes, probability of landing a job, and their car insurance rates, among other consequences. Fortunately, an experienced DUI defense attorney may be able to help your child avoid the repercussions that stem from a criminal conviction.
Charged With Underage Drinking And Have Questions? We Can Help, Tell Us What Happened.
At Rubin, Glickman, Steinberg & Gifford P.C., we’ve been handling criminal defense matters for our clients for over 65 years. We have a proven track record of success defending clients in state and federal criminal courts throughout the region. Contact us today online or by phone at 215-822-7575 to speak with an experienced Montgomery County underage drinking defense attorney.
Understanding Pennsylvania’s Underage Drinking Laws
For adults, a DUI typically involves a blood alcohol content of .08 or above. There’s a zero-tolerance policy for minors, however, which means a BAC of .02 while driving can lead to a DUI charge. In Pennsylvania, it’s illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to purchase, consume, possess or transport any alcoholic beverage. Penalties for underage drinking in Pennsylvania include:
- First Offense: $300 fine, 90-day suspension license suspension
- Second Offense: $500 fine, one-year license suspension
Get Advice From An Experienced DUI Attorney. All You Have To Do Is Call 215-822-7575 To Receive Your Free Case Evaluation.
Under the Commonwealth’s Zero Tolerance Law, it’s considered drunk driving when a person under 21 has a BAC of .02 or greater while operating a motor vehicle. Fortunately, our lawyers understand the importance of keeping this charge off your record and can help you achieve a favorable legal outcome. We’ll do everything in our power to help get these charges dismissed.
How Does a DUI Conviction Affect Your College Career?
College can be an incredible opportunity for young people to experiment, learn new things, and make mistakes. However, schools won’t take an underage DUI charge lightly. If you’ve been arrested for driving under the influence under the age of 21, you may worry about how this will affect your chances of being accepted to your dream school or, if you’ve already been accepted, whether the school will renege on their agreement.
Even with college out of the picture, the consequences associated with a DUI conviction could take a toll on your mental health, social life, finances, and future career. That’s not to mention the potential for court appearances, fines, a suspension of your license, and even jail time. Driving under the influence is a significant criminal offense that not only involves challenging statutory consequences but also a criminal record, which can limit a person’s ability to find employment, attain child custody, immigrate, and regain their driving privileges.
If you’re facing DUI charges and are under the age of 21, you may also face school-related penalties. This includes the following:
- Expulsion or suspension
- A loss of financial aid
- Missing out on future academic opportunities
- Disqualifications from forthcoming job prospects
Fortunately, if you’re under the age of 21 and have been arrested for driving under the influence, there’s hope that you may be able to evade any statutory and school-related penalties. Contact a knowledgeable Montgomery County DUI defense lawyer as soon as possible for help protecting your rights.
Schedule Your Free Initial Consultation with Experienced Montgomery County Underage Drinking Attorneys
If you or a loved one is facing underage drinking charges, it’s imperative that you get in touch with legal professionals who can help. Fortunately, you don’t have to navigate this process alone. The expert underage drinking lawyers at Rubin, Glickman, Steinberg & Gifford understand how challenging this time can be for young people, which is why we’re dedicated to fighting for your rights and protecting your interests throughout the legal process. Our highly trusted and well-versed legal team understands the ins and outs of Montgomery County DUI expungement law and will be with you every step of the way.
For more than 65 years, the attorneys at Rubin, Glickman, Steinberg & Gifford have been serving clients’ legal needs in Montgomery County, Bucks County, and throughout the surrounding areas. We’ve earned the trust and respect of clients facing a wide range of legal problems. Our underage drinking attorneys in Montgomery County are ready to protect you and guard your rights. Give us a call at (215) 822-7575 or complete our online contact form today.