Doylestown DWI/DUI Lawyers
Driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while impaired (DWI) have similar meanings: operating any mode of transportation while intoxicated. In 2003, Pennsylvania legislators revamped their drinking and driving laws, starting with changing the term DUI to DAI, or “driving after imbibing.” Even so, it’s still commonly referred to as a DUI and comes with severe penalties that may unravel your personal and professional life.
In the United States, individuals aged 21 and over who drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher can be pulled over, arrested, and charged with a DUI. The state of Pennsylvania’s strict Zero Tolerance Policy allows law enforcement to arrest and charge those under 21 with a BAC of 0.02 percent. If you were arrested for driving under the influence, contact our DUI attorneys for legal representation. We offer free initial consultation.
Experienced DWI/DUI Lawyers Vigorously Advocate for Clients Arrested Throughout Doylestown
Questions about the possible consequences of a DUI/DWI arrest can keep you awake at night. This is understandable, as a DWI/DUI conviction can have far-reaching consequences that extend beyond completing the punishment in your case, especially if you have any prior DUI/DWI convictions or were considered to have a BAC that rendered you highly intoxicated at the time of your arrest.
Charged With A DUI And Have Questions? We Can Help, Tell Us What Happened.
Fortunately, you do not have to go through this troubling time alone. The experienced Doylestown DUI and DWI lawyers at Rubin, Glickman, Steinberg, and Gifford P.C. understand how difficult the uncertainties and fears you face during this time can be, and we are here to help. We will not only answer your pressing questions but also ask questions of our own so that we can work together to formulate a robust defense strategy in your case. No lawyer can guarantee that your case will be dismissed, but our Doylestown DUI lawyers can ensure that we will exhaust every available option to avoid or reduce certain penalties.
Varying DUI/DWI Charges in Doylestown, Pennsylvania
DUI and DWI offenses in Doylestown range based upon several factors relevant to the defendant, such as the level of impairment, whether they have a prior criminal record, and whether they caused an accident with injuries. For instance, a first-time offender that ends up hurting someone in an accident will generally face harsher consequences than someone who did not. The maximum penalties for DAI/DUI/DWI cases and other related cases vary depending on which of the following offense categories you belong to:
- First Offense DUI
- Multiple Offense DUI
- Refusal to take a breathalyzer
- Underage drinking
- Commercial driver DUI
- DUI license suspension
Fighting DUI charges may feel overwhelming and scary. It’s natural to feel worried about the possibility of incarceration, fines, and losing your rights, or even that your life is completely ruined. Remember, your charges don’t define your character, and they certainly don’t have to haunt you for the rest of your life. With a trusted legal advisor, you may be able to lessen or acquit your charges.
Minimum Sentencing Rules for DWI/DUI Convictions in Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Under a Pennsylvania law that was enacted to crack down on drunk driving in recent years, when a driver has a BAC of 0.10 percent or greater, that driver may be sentenced to at least two days (and up to six months) in jail. When BAC registers at 0.16 percent or more, that minimum jail term becomes three days. These are the minimum jail requirements for first-time DUI/DWI offenders, and they apply even if you have never been accused of committing any other crime.
Get Advice From An Experienced Doylestown DUI Defense Attorney. All You Have To Do Is Call 215-822-7575 To Receive Your Free Case Evaluation.
Although it is up to the trial judge’s discretion whether they will prescribe the minimum amount of jail time possible, spending even one night in jail is never a pleasant experience. The penalties for DUI/DWI conviction only become harsher after a first conviction, even if you were allowed to participate in a diversionary program after your first Doylestown DWI/DUI arrest. For second offenders, the penalties range from:
- 0.08-0.99 percent BAC: Between five days and six months in prison, with fines of $300-$2,500
- 0.10-0.159 percent BAC: Between 30 days and six months in prison, with fines of $$750-$5,000 and a 12-month driver’s license suspension
- BAC above 0.16 percent: Between 90 days and five years in prison, a fine of $1,500 and an 18-month driver’s license suspension
Second and subsequent offenses also require a mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle, which will require that you submit to a breathalyzer each time you attempt to drive your vehicle. The court may also mandate drug and alcohol counseling and screening.
Minimize Your DWI/DUI Consequences with Our Doylestown DUI/DWI Lawyers
Despite Pennsylvania’s minimum sentencing laws for even first-time DUI/DWI offenders, when you have an experienced DUI/DWI lawyer in your corner, you have a greater chance of challenging the arrest and contesting the application of higher-tier penalties. The Doylestown DUI/DWI lawyers at Rubin, Glickman, Steinberg & Gifford, P.C., are committed to thoroughly researching and investigating all our clients’ cases to help minimize the consequences of the arrest.
Contact Doylestown DUI/DWI Attorneys to Discuss Your Arrest Today
Here at Rubin, Glickman, Steinberg & Gifford, P.C., our defense attorneys are morally bound to effectively represent all clients—guilty or innocent. Working with us means receiving the benefit of over 65 years of collective criminal law experience as well as the personal relationships, accumulated resources, and combined knowledge that come with it.
If you have been arrested on DWI/DUI charges in Doylestown, call our skilled team of DWI/DUI lawyers to schedule a free initial consultation for advice and evaluation about your case by calling (215) 822-7575 or complete a confidential contact form today. For your convenience, we have two offices located in Colmar, Hatfield Township and Newtown, PA.
Frequently Asked Questions About DWI/DUI
Legally, yes. Pennsylvania’s implied consent law means that all drivers on the roadway are considered to have agreed to chemical blood, breath or urine tests simply by driving on the Pennsylvania roadways. Refusal to submit to a chemical test results in a mandatory one-year driver’s license suspension (and a $500 fee to have the license reinstated). If you refuse a second or third time, your license will be suspended for 18 months and the reinstatement fee increases to $1,000 or $2,000, respectively.
Usually, refusing to submit to a chemical test will not help your situation, especially if this is your first offense. While the penalties for a DWI/DUI conviction are harsher than those that apply if you refuse a test, refusal to submit to a chemical test does not mean that you cannot be convicted of driving under the influence—law enforcement officials are not strictly required to present evidence via a chemical test in court, and can testify as to their observations at the time you were pulled over. In fact, refusal can even be used as evidence that you were, in fact, guilty of driving under the influence. That means you can face both the penalties for refusing the test and the penalties for DWI/DUI. If you have been arrested for refusal to submit to a chemical test, contact our offices today for advice specific to your case.