Marijuana Possession Defense Lawyer
Across the country, including in parts of Pennsylvania, the government is beginning to decriminalize marijuana. For now, however, only those who hold a valid medical marijuana card are authorized to possess marijuana. Someone without one of these cards would likely benefit from consulting a marijuana possession defense attorney with Rubin, Glickman, Steinberg & Gifford, P.C. if arrested on cannabis drug charges.
Being Charged With Drug Possession And Have Questions? We Can Help, Tell Us What Happened.
What Constitutes Simple Possession of Marijuana?
A charge of simple possession of marijuana is made by authorities when an arresting officer fails to find evidence that an individual intended to deliver, distribute, or grow marijuana. In this situation, they can only charge a defendant with simple possession rather than what is sometimes referred to as drug trafficking.
Simple possession of marijuana is considered a misdemeanor charge, meaning that a conviction for this type of drug crime will result in less severe penalties than a felony conviction. However, they can still have a detrimental effect on a defendant’s life. Someone convicted of possessing less than 30 grams of marijuana for their own use could face as much as 30 days in jail, a $500 fine, and carry a criminal record.
A conviction for growing or selling 30 grams or less of marijuana comes with the same potential penalties. A convicted defendant will also have a permanent record that could complicate their future. They may face challenges in obtaining employment or qualifying for college, certain housing arrangements, or insurance. Subsequent convictions for similar charges could further increase the severity of penalties.
Simple possession convictions for amounts of marijuana above 30 grams (for first-time offenses) could lead to as much as a year of prison time and a $5,000 fine. A convicted defendant for this type of charge will have to pay court fees and costs, and could lose certain freedoms like the right to own a firearm or parental rights to their children. Subsequent convictions could even double those penalties in some cases.
What Penalties Could I Face for PWID Marijuana in Pennsylvania?
A conviction for possession with intent to deliver (PWID) marijuana in amounts above 30 grams will result in much harsher penalties than simple possession since it’s a felony offense. Someone who is convicted of this charge was found guilty of cultivating, growing, manufacturing, distributing, sharing, or selling marijuana.
The penalties for a Pennsylvania state PWID conviction involving marijuana can include as much as three years in prison, as much as $25,000 in fines, asset or property forfeiture, losing the right to own firearms, loss of parental rights, and difficulty obtaining employment, insurance, or student loans. Being convicted on the federal level could have even more severe consequences, ranging up to as much as 20 years in a federal prison and potential fines as high as $1,000,000 for a first-time offense.
Get Advice From An Experienced Drug Crimes Attorney. All You Have To Do Is Call 215-822-7575 To Receive Your Free Case Evaluation.
Contact a Marijuana Possession Defense Attorney at Rubin, Glickman, Steinberg & Gifford, P.C.
Being arrested and charged with a drug crime never means you will be automatically convicted, no matter the evidence that authorities claim to have. A marijuana possession defense lawyer with Rubin, Glickman, Steinberg & Gifford, P.C. can help develop a strategy to vigorously defend yourself against the charges. We offer free consultations to potential clients who call us at (215) 822-7575 or contact us online.