People who are stopped and arrested for drunk driving in Pennsylvania have every reason to feel scared and unsure of what to expect. Despite the social stereotype that anyone arrested for a DUI is irresponsible or a serious alcoholic, this sort of situation happens to very responsible people all the time. Professional people who may stop for happy hour on their way home from work, for example, could be at risk for getting a DUI. The state’s threshold of a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent can be reached easier than one might know.
Currently, there are 25 states in the nation that require all people convicted of a drunk driving offense to install and use an ignition interlock device. This is a device that prevents a person from starting a vehicle until a breath test is successfully passed. A new bill just made it successfully through the state House of Representatives that would force any driver convicted of a DUI offense in Pennsylvania to use an IID if the offense included a BAC of 0.10 percent or greater.
Only two people voted against the law in the House and the bill will now move to the Senate and eventually to the Governor’s office, assuming it is passed by the Senate. Reports indicate that the Governor has expressed support for the new law.
Drivers facing DUI charges may wish to contact an attorney after being arrested. This is one way that they can learn more about the laws and how to manage a DUI defense process.
Source: The Philadelphia Tribune, “State close to requiring ignition locks for first-time drunken drivers,” May 18, 2016