There are thousands of registered gun owners in Pennsylvania. Of Pennsylvania’s 348,167 registered firearms, most of those gun owners are also licensed to carry their weapons and drive vehicles. While you may think that you can carry your firearm wherever you want because you have a license, that is not always the case. If you find yourself arrested for carrying a gun in your vehicle, you need a skilled defense attorney on your side.
The team at Rubin, Glickman, Steinberg & Gifford, P.C. has thorough knowledge of Pennsylvania’s gun laws. Our attorneys have experience handling many legal challenges, and they may be able to help you with your case.
Pennsylvania Gun Laws Governing Vehicles
There are several key aspects to understanding the rules of carrying a firearm in your vehicle. Simply put, Pennsylvania law holds that no person, even the holder of a license to carry a firearm, may carry a loaded long gun in a vehicle. In addition, the law asserts that any person carrying a firearm without a license in a vehicle will be charged with a felony; however, there are some exceptions to the law. Such exceptions include:
- Those traveling to or from target shooting, if the firearm is unloaded with the cartridges or shells carried in a separate container;
- Officers or employees of the United States duly authorized to carry a concealed firearm;
- Agents, messengers, or employees of banks or businesses whose duties require them to protect money or other valuable property in the discharge of their duties;
- Any person engaged in the business of manufacturing, repairing, or dealing in firearms or the agent of such person, having in his or her possession, using, or carrying a firearm in the usual course of business;
- Any person carrying an unloaded firearm in a secure wrapper between certain places, including the place of purchase or repair to his or her home or place of business, or when moving from one home or business to another;
- Any person licensed to hunt or fish, if he or she is actually hunting or fishing;
- A person training dogs during the regular training season;
- Any person carrying a firearm in a vehicle who possesses a valid and lawfully issued license for that firearm which has been issued under the laws of the U.S. or any other state; and
- A person who had a license to possess a firearm that expired within six months before his or her date of arrest.
As you can see, there are many exceptions to the general rule that prohibits carrying a gun in your vehicle. If you have been arrested for carrying a gun in your vehicle, you should contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. An attorney will be able to review the facts of your case and explain all of your legal options.
What Happens If You Have Been Arrested for Carrying a Firearm in Your Vehicle?
The penalties for being arrested after carrying a firearm in your vehicle could be severe. The penalties range from a misdemeanor charge carrying up to two and a half to five years in prison and maximum $10,000 fine to a felony charge carrying up to seven years in prison with a $15,000 fine. Felony charges also carry the added stigma that could make it very difficult to gain and maintain employment.
Contact the Skilled Criminal Defense Attorneys at Rubin, Glickman, Steinberg & Gifford, P.C.
If you have been arrested for carrying a firearm in your vehicle, there is a lot at stake. Indeed, your very freedom could be taken away, and your arrest could cost you your job, property, and peace of mind. The legal team at Rubin, Glickman, Steinberg & Gifford, P.C. know what is at stake for you, and we want to help you. Our seasoned, skilled attorneys have a combined sixty-five years of experience with Pennsylvania’s firearm laws, and we will fight for you. If you have been arrested for carrying a firearm in your vehicle, contact us today for a free consultation. Our office can be reached by phone at (215) 822-7575 or by filling out the contact form on our website.