Lansdale DWI/DUI Lawyers
A conviction for DWI/DUI can impact all aspects of your life, making it critical that you have a skilled advocate on your side when facing these types of charges. You may be required to disclose information regarding your DUI when applying for jobs, higher education or even a place to live. Financially, a DWI/DUI can have an impact on your car insurance premium rates for years to come.
Everyone makes mistakes, and while being arrested for a DUI may seem hopeless, working with an experienced DUI attorney in Lansdale can help. Our team at Rubin, Glickman, Steinberg, and Gifford works hard to lessen the penalties associated with a conviction. With over 65 years of experience helping and defending clients arrested on DUI charges, we know what it takes to minimize the potential damage following an arrest, and we will be by your side through every step of the process.
Charged With A DUI And Have Questions? We Can Help, Tell Us What Happened.
What Are the Potential Consequences of a DUI in Lansdale, Pennsylvania?
When you are charged with a DUI, the consequences you may face will vary based on whether this is your first or subsequent offense and your blood alcohol concentration (BAC). Those with a first DUI offense may face less severe penalties than those with a third DUI charge; still, these penalties may drastically change your life.
- Probation or Jail: First-time offenders may face up to 6 months of probation, while those with two instances of a DUI are required to spend a minimum of 5, 30, or 90 days in jail. If you commit more than two offenses of DUI, you may be sentenced to up to a year in prison.
- License Suspension: Your blood alcohol concentration will be one of the key factors in determining if your license will be suspended. If this is your first offense and you have a relatively low BAC, your license may not be suspended.
- Fines: You can pay from as low as $300 to as high as $5,000. While the fine increases with repeat convictions, most people have to pay fines when arrested for a DUI.
- Mandatory Classes: In order to try and keep those who commit DUI’s from repeating the offense, you will likely have to participate in alcohol education classes. These programs provide education on substance abuse and addiction in addition to the consequences of driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
In 2018, the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PENNDOT) stated that there were 49,730 DUI arrests. Driving under the influence puts many people at risk, and many people experience the consequences of DUI’s. A Lansdale DUI attorney may be able to help minimize the consequences of a DWI/DUI charge.
Get Advice From An Experienced Lansdale DUI Defense Attorney. All You Have To Do Is Call 215-822-7575 To Receive Your Free Case Evaluation.
The Three-Tiered Penalty System in Lansdale, Pennsylvania
In Pennsylvania, the DUI law includes a three-tier system by which judges determine penalties. The three levels are determined by your BAC level. A higher amount of alcohol in your system at the time of arrest can lead to heavier penalties. Within the three levels, the publishments vary depending on the number of offenses.
So, if you have 1 prior DUI offense but a low BAC, you may have less severe punishments than if you had a higher BAC. The three-tier model is described below:
- General Impairment: 0.08 to less than 0.10%
- High Rate of Alcohol – 0.10 to less than 0.16%
- Highest Rate of Alcohol – 0.16 or higher
Each section has different punishments and mandates depending on the offense, but this model allows an experienced DUI attorney in Lansdale, PA to help clients reduce their punishment. For more information about the different levels and the penalties that come with them, see our Pennsylvania DUI Laws and Penalties page.
Pennsylvania’s Ignition Interlock Law For DWI/DUI Cases
Pennsylvania’s ignition interlock law provides harsher penalties to those who drive while severely intoxicated. You may be ordered to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle, which will require you to blow into a breathalyzer to start the vehicle.
Under the ignition interlock law, even a first offense DWI/DUI charge can require you to install this device to obtain full driving privileges. The law now requires the following for first and second DUI/DWI offenses:
- First offenders are immediately eligible to restore driving privileges if they install the ignition interlock device in the vehicle.
- For a second or subsequent offense, a license suspension period of at least six to nine months will still apply, after which the individual may apply for an “interlock license.”
Even if a first offender is not eligible for Pennsylvania’s accelerated rehabilitative disposition (ARD) program –– which can reduce the length of a driver’s license suspension from 12 months to between one and three months –– that first offender may still apply for an interlock license. Contact our Lansdale DUI attorneys for legal help. Our skilled attorneys will make sure your legal rights are protected.
Schedule A Free Consultation With A Passionate DUI Lawyer in Lansdale, Pennsylvania
At Rubin, Glickman, Steinberg & Gifford, we understand how thoroughly a suspended license can impact your ability to earn a living and even accomplish everyday tasks. Many people make mistakes and learn from them, and we want to provide you with the best possibility of recovering from this one.
Our experienced DWI/DUI lawyers in Lansdale are here to provide advice and guidance on every aspect of your DWI/DUI charge. They are ready to begin fighting on your behalf today to help minimize the potential consequences after your arrest. Call 215-822-7575 or fill out our online contact form for a free consultation.
Frequently Asked Questions About DWI/DUI
A conviction for DWI/DUI in Lansdale will almost certainly impact your insurance premium rates, as the insurance company will view you as a more high-risk driver. Car insurance companies can request and review your driving record before they set the premiums on your policy and, while every case is different, will likely take a DWI/DUI conviction into consideration. With respect to car insurance that you already maintain, you will be required to file a Form SR-22 vehicle liability insurance document with the Pennsylvania Department of Motor Vehicles (or the insurance company may make this filing) that proves you have the proper amount of insurance coverage. This form is required for you go get your driving privileges back after a suspension.
If you are injured and must use your health insurance relating to an accident caused while driving under the influence, your health insurance premiums should not be affected because of the Affordable Care Act restrictions that now apply. When applying for a life insurance policy, however, the insurance company will likely ask about any prior DWI/DUI convictions and can charge an extra rate because of this. Existing life insurance policies should not be impacted at all.