North Wales DWI/DUI Lawyer

Dedicated Criminal Defense Lawyers Help Clients Face DWI/DUI Charges in North Wales

Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol represents a serious criminal offense under Pennsylvania law. A conviction for DWI/DUI potentially carries significant penalties, including jail or prison time, fines, license suspension, and the requirement to install an ignition interlock on your vehicles. That is why you need to move quickly to give yourself the best chance at securing a favorable outcome to your DWI/DUI charges.

Charged With A DUI And Have Questions? We Can Help, Tell Us What Happened.

For over six decades, the attorneys of Rubin, Glickman, Steinberg & Gifford have worked hard to protect the rights and interests of our clients in North Wales and throughout Pennsylvania. We have successfully defended numerous clients facing drunk driving charges and in many cases we have been able to get our clients’ charges entirely dismissed.

Contact us today for a free case review to discuss the details of your case and to learn more about how we can help you.

Penalties for DWI/DUI Convictions

In Pennsylvania, a conviction for driving under the influence carries penalties according to a tiered system that is based on the amount of alcohol or other controlled substance in your system at the time of your offense and the number of prior DUI convictions you have. First-time offenses are aimed at treatment rather than punishment.

Penalties for DUI convictions in Pennsylvania include:

For general impairment (undetermined BAC or BAC of .08% to .099%):

  • No prior DUIs: Up to six months’ probation, a $300 fine, alcohol highway safety school, and treatment if ordered by the court
  • One prior DUI: 12-month license suspension, one-year installation of an ignition interlock on the driver’s vehicles, five days’ to six months’ jail time, $300 to $2500 fine, alcohol highway safety school, and treatment if ordered by the court
  • Two or more prior DUIs: 12-month license suspension, one-year installation of an ignition interlock on the driver’s vehicles, 10 days in jail to two years in prison, $500 to $5000 fine, and treatment if ordered by the court

Get Advice From An Experienced Doylestown DUI Defense Attorney. All You Have To Do Is Call 215-822-7575 To Receive Your Free Case Evaluation.

For high BAC (.10% to .159%)

  • No prior DUIs: 12-month license suspension, 48 hours to six months in jail, $500 to $5000 fine, alcohol highway safety school, and treatment if ordered by the court
  • One prior DUI: 12-month license suspension, one-year installation of an ignition interlock on the driver’s vehicles, 30 days’ to six months’ jail time, $750 to $5000 fine, alcohol highway safety school, and treatment if ordered by the court
  • Two prior DUIs: 18-month license suspension, one-year installation of an ignition interlock on the driver’s vehicles, 90 days in jail to five years in prison, $1500 to $10,000 fine, and treatment if ordered by the court
  • Three or more prior DUIs: 18-month license suspension, one-year installation of an ignition interlock on the driver’s vehicles, one to five years in prison, $1500 to $10,000 fine, and treatment if ordered by the court

For highest BAC (.16% and higher, presence of controlled substances, or refusal of breath or chemical testing):

  • No prior DUIs: 12-month license suspension, 72 hours to six months in jail, $1000 to $5000 fine, alcohol highway safety school, and treatment if ordered by the court
  • One prior DUI: 18-month license suspension, one-year installation of an ignition interlock on the driver’s vehicles, 90 days in jail up to five years’ imprisonment, $1500 to $10,000 fine, alcohol highway safety school, and treatment if ordered by the court
  • Two prior DUIs: 18-month license suspension, one-year installation of an ignition interlock on the driver’s vehicles, one to five years in prison, $2500 to $10,000 fine, and treatment if ordered by the court

The Criminal Defense Attorneys at Rubin, Glickman, Steinberg & Gifford Can Help You Favorably Resolve Your DWI/DUI Charges

In many cases, our attorneys may be able to challenge the basis of your DWI/DUI charges. For examples, we may be able to challenge the validity of your initial traffic stop, or challenge the reliability of the field sobriety test or breathalyzer test administered by the police officer who stopped you, or the reliability of the blood alcohol test if one is administered. We can also help you fight to get a resolution to your charges that focuses on treatment rather than imposing jail or prison time and fines.

Schedule a Free Case Review with a North Wales DWI/DUI Lawyer from Rubin, Glickman, Steinberg & Gifford Today

If you or a loved one have been arrested for DWI or DUI, you don’t have to let a single mistake negatively impact your life for years to come. An experienced criminal defense attorney may be able to help you obtain a favorable outcome to your charges. Contact Rubin, Glickman, Steinberg & Gifford today to schedule a free, no-obligation initial consultation to discuss your legal rights and options when facing DWI/DUI charges and to learn more about how our attorneys may be able to help you resolve your charges and get back to your normal life.

About North Wales, PA

The borough of North Wales is a community located in Montgomery County, PA. One of the three historic population centers forming the North Penn Valley region, today North Wales popularly includes many neighborhoods outside its official boundaries in adjoining and nearby townships and communities. North Wales developed into a suburb of Philadelphia and a summer getaway for many of its residents in the latter half of the 19th century following the introduction of railroad and later trolley lines. Today, North Wales retains much of its historic architecture through the North Wales Historic Preservation District, the first historic district in the North Penn Valley region.

Frequently Asked Questions about DWI/DUI in North Wales, PA

FAQ: Can I refuse a breathalyzer or blood alcohol test?

When you get behind the wheel in Pennsylvania, you impliedly give consent to submit to a breathalyzer or blood alcohol test upon request by law enforcement. If you are asked to submit to a test, you can technically refuse to undergo a breath or blood test. Although refusing a test is not itself a crime, refusal to submit to a breathalyzer or blood alcohol test can have other consequences, including upping your DUI charges to the highest rate of alcohol or suspension or revocation of your driver’s license.

FAQ: Is the legal BAC limit the same for drivers under the age of 21?

No. Pennsylvania is considered a zero-tolerance state for motorists under the age of 21 who drive after consuming alcohol, as the legal drinking age in Pennsylvania is 21. Although the BAC limit for DUI is normally 0.08 percent, for drivers under the age of 21 the limit is 0.02 or more. As a result, virtually any amount of alcohol in an underage driver’s system will lead to a conviction for DUI. Any conviction for DUI for an underage driver can result in fines, jail time, and suspension of one’s driver’s license.