Newtown DWI/DUI Lawyers
Experienced Newtown DWI/DUI Lawyers Fight to Avoid Conviction
Pennsylvania, like many other states, has recently enacted much more harsh penalties designed to discourage drunk driving and punish those who are found guilty of DWI/DUI. Although penalties range in severity depending upon a number of factors, even first-time offenders can face, among other penalties, mandatory jail time, loss of driving privileges and court-ordered treatment and alcohol/drug screening. If you have been convicted for DWI/DUI in the ten years prior to your current arrest (Pennsylvania’s “lookback period”), the penalties for a subsequent conviction become even more severe.
Charged With A DUI And Have Questions? We Can Help, Tell Us What Happened.
The DWI/DUI lawyers at Rubin, Glickman, Steinberg & Gifford, P.C. have been defending clients who have been arrested for DWI/DUI in Newtown for decades and have a thorough understanding of Pennsylvania’s DWI/DUI laws and penalties. Once you have been arrested on DWI/DUI charges, our experienced DWI/DUI defense lawyers can help you understand those potential penalties and steps that we may be able to take to refute the prosecution’s evidence and minimize the consequences if at all possible in your case. Not all DWI/DUI arrests have to result in a conviction, so call our offices today.
Penalties for DUI/DWI Conviction in Newtown Can Be Severe:
Even for first offense DWI/DUI convictions in Newtown, the courts have a variety of potential penalties that they can choose to, or are required to, apply in your case. Potential consequences of DWI/DUI conviction include:
- Jail time (note that jail time can even be mandatory for first offenders under Pennsylvania law),
- Monetary fines and court costs,
- Community service,
- Mandatory drug and alcohol counseling and/or screening,
- Alcohol highway safety school,
- Suspension of driving privileges,
- Installation of an ignition interlock device, and
- A criminal record.
Get Advice From An Experienced Newtown, PA DUI Defense Attorney. All You Have To Do Is Call 215-822-7575 To Receive Your Free Case Evaluation.
For drivers found to have a BAC of 0.10 percent or higher, suspension of driving privileges becomes mandatory for at least 12 months even for first offenders. Out-of-state DWI/DUI convictions can also be considered in determining whether to suspend driving privileges.
Experienced Newtown DWI/DUI Lawyers Can Challenge the Prosecution’s Evidence in Your Case
After you are stopped for suspected driving under the influence, law enforcement officials will take various steps to verify whether you were driving while intoxicated. Rubin, Glickman, Steinberg & Gifford, P.C., our skilled team of DWI/DUI lawyers may be able to challenge the admissibility or validity of the prosecution’s evidence, including evidence law enforcement officials gathered through:
- Live observation. Law enforcement officials are required to have probable cause to believe that you are driving under the influence before they can initiate an arrest, and this probable cause is gathered through the official’s in-person observation of the driver during the traffic stop. What the officer smells and sees is important, but can be challenged on any number of grounds by an experienced DWI/DUI lawyer.
- Field sobriety testing. After the officer determines that the driver appears to be intoxicated based on live observation, but before conducting a chemical test to determine the driver’s BAC, law enforcement will administer field sobriety tests to gather additional cause for testing. These typically include walking in a straight line, heel-to-toe, reciting the alphabet or touching one’s nose. We will investigate to make sure the officers followed all proper procedures in administering these tests.
- Breathalyzer or other chemical testing. The final step before arrest is the administration of a portable breath test, or breathalyzer, at the scene. In other cases, the officer may take the driver to a hospital or facility for blood or urine testing. The results of these tests may be inaccurate for any number of reasons, including improper maintenance of the breathalyzer machine, chain of custody issues or lack of probable cause to administer the test in the first place.
Schedule a Free Initial Consultation to Discuss Your Case if You Have Been Arrested for Driving Under the Influence in Newtown
Call our skilled team of Newtown DWI/DUI lawyers to schedule a free consultation to discuss any questions that you have relating to DWI/DUI charges that you may be facing. Our offices can be reached via phone call or you can send us a confidential email and we will respond promptly. For your convenience, we have two offices that are located at 2605 N. Broad Street, Colmar, PA 18915 and 12 Penns Trail, Suite 145, Newtown, PA 18940. We offer free and convenient parking for all of our clients.
About Newtown, PA
Newtown, Pennsylvania is located in Bucks County and is a 0.55 square-mile region located near Trenton, New Jersey, although Newtown is technically considered to be part of the Philadelphia metropolitan area. Newtown is known for its historical significance and was home to the painter Edward Hicks during the late 18th and early 19th centuries. Today, Newtown is home of the Newtown Historical Association and several properties that are listed on the National Register of Historic Places (including the Half-Moon Inn and the Newtown Historic District itself).
Frequently Asked Questions About DWI/DUI
In the judge’s discretion, you may be granted a restricted license after you have served the first 60 days of your suspension. Generally, an ignition interlock device will have to be installed in your vehicle, and your license will only allow you to drive to and from your place of employment.
The penalties for driving with a suspended license are severe. If you are caught driving with a suspended license, your first offense carries a minimum $500 fine and mandatory jail time of between 60 and 90 days. If you are caught driving with a suspended license and you have a BAC that registers over 0.02 percent (basically, a zero tolerance rule), your first offense will carry a minimum fine of $1,000 and a minimum jail term of 90 days. Even if you have already applied to have your license reinstated, remember that you cannot drive until you have actually received your new license.